CHESHIRE EAST COUNCIL

Minutes of a Special Meeting of the **Council** held on Monday, 14th November, 2011 at Lyceum Theatre, Crewe

PRESENT

Councillor R West (Chairman)
Councillor G M Walton (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors C Andrew, Rachel Bailey, Rhoda Bailey, A Barratt, G Baxendale, D Bebbington, D Brickhill, D Brown, P Butterill, J Clowes, H Davenport, W S Davies, R Domleo, K Edwards, P Edwards, I Faseyi, J P Findlow, W Fitzgerald, R Fletcher, D Flude, S Gardiner, L Gilbert, M Grant, P Groves, J Hammond, A Harewood, J Jackson, W Livesley, D Mahon, D Marren, A Martin, M A Martin, P Mason, G Merry, B Moran, H Murray, D Newton, P Nurse, P Raynes, M Sherratt, B Silvester, M J Simon, L Smetham, D Stockton, C G Thorley, A Thwaite, D Topping, M J Weatherill, P Whiteley, S Wilkinson and J Wray

Apologies

Councillors G Boston, L Brown, B Burkhill, R Cartlidge, S Corcoran, H Gaddum, M Hardy, S Hogben, P Hoyland, O Hunter, L Jeuda, M Jones, F Keegan, J Macrae, S McGrory, R Menlove, A Moran, B Murphy, M Parsons, L Roberts and J Saunders

63 **PRAYERS**

The Mayor's Chaplain, Reverend Rob McLaren, said Prayers.

64 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None.

The Mayor reported that several Cheshire East Councillors had been conferred with the title of Alderman, by the predecessor Councils and that the Borough Solicitor had confirmed that it was not necessary for these Members to declare a personal interest.

65 ADMISSION OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

The Council, at its meeting on 13 October 2011, had resolved that the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on the following former Members of the Council: -

Mr Ainsley Arnold Mr David Cannon Mr Brian Dykes Dr John Goddard Mr Andrew Knowles Mr Tony Ranfield Mr Ray Westwood

The Mayor formally invited Council to consider the admission of Honorary Aldermen.

The Leader of the Council, Cllr Wesley Fitzgerald formally proposed that, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the above persons, who had in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent and distinguished service as past Members of the Council be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of Cheshire East Borough Council and be thereby entitled to the rights and privileges of an Honorary Alderman and this was seconded by Cllr Dorothy Flude.

RESOLVED

That, in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972:

Mr Ainsley Arnold Mr David Cannon Mr Brian Dykes Dr John Goddard Mr Andrew Knowles Mr Tony Ranfield Mr Ray Westwood

being persons who had in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent and distinguished service as past Members of the Council be admitted to the Roll of Honorary Aldermen of Cheshire East Borough Council and be thereby entitled to the rights and privileges of an Honorary Alderman.

(The motion was carried unanimously, thereby complying with section 249(5) of the Local Government Act 1972 (amended by Section 180 of the Local Government Planning and Land Act 1980), which requires that the resolution is passed by not less than two-thirds of the Members voting).

The Mayor then announced the appointment of Aldermen Arnold, Cannon, Dykes, Goddard, Knowles, Ranfield and Westwood as Honorary Aldermen of Cheshire East Borough Council.

Tributes were then paid by the relevant group Leader for each of the Honorary Aldermen.

Each Alderman was then presented with a framed scroll and medal and they each addressed the Council, in turn.

The meeting commenced at 4.15 pm and concluded at 5.00 pm

Councillor R West (Chairman) CHAIRMAN